Sep 23, 2013


There was plenty of drama in the Kerrick National Sports Sedan Series as the penultimate round of the year became a case of drivers seemingly doing their best not to take the checkered flag first. 

Tony Ricciardello won two races in his famous Alfa – Chev, returning him to title contention after a tough start to the year, but it was the dramas for title rivals Kerry Bailey and Darren Hossack that changed proceedings. 

Both former series champions fell afoul of strict circuit noise restrictions in race two with both cars black-flagged from proceedings, though Hossack had the minor consolation re-setting the Kerrick Series lap record in race one today. 

The series’ second-placed driver, Shane Bradford, looked set to capitalise on their misfortune in race two before he too failed to finish when his car ended up in the sand trap at Lukey Heights. 

Ricciardello then looked strong in the finale’ before his car received a mechanical black flag for loose front bodywork, handing the race win to Daniel Tamasi. Remarkably, Bruce Banks now leads the series with one round remaining.

Championship Points

1. Jack Perkins 405 
2. Billy Cetin 343
3. Michael Robinson 312
4. Steve Lacey 236
5. Bruce Henley 219